Crowley, Riverside girls and boys win Eye Opener cross country meet

Published on Sunday, September 4, 2016

Enlarge photo

Crowley, Riverside girls and boys win Eye Opener cross country meet
The Riverside Warriors won the boys and girls championships at the 33rd Eye Opener cross country meet Saturday at the Milliken Research Center.

Jessie Crowley (18:41.61) was individual medalist in a dash to the finish with teammate Cate Ambrose who was only six one-hundreths of a second behind. It was a spectacular race between former state champions – Crowley last year as an 8th grader and Ambrose, who won in 2014.

Riverside, with 22 points, overwhelmed runnerup Science Hill, Tenn. with 123. Eastside was third with 128 points. Riverside had five of the top eight runners.

Riverside’s girls won the Eye Opener for the second straight year. They have won the last three AAAA state championships.

Riverside’s boys enjoyed their first Eye Opener championship since 1996. Boiling Springs was second with 124 points.

Wade Hampton’s John Ward won the individual race sprinting past Alex Crigger of Science Hill near the finish line. Ward won with a time of 15.42 and Crigger trailed at 15.43.92.

Girls scores

Team top 10: Riverside 22, Science Hill (Tenn.) 123, Eastside 128, Morristown-West (Tenn.) 135, Dorman 143, Brevard (N.C.) 180, William A. Hough (N.C.) 196, Mauldin 251, Wade Hampton 254, J.L. Mann 271.

Top 10 Individuals: 1. Jessie Crowley (Riverside) 18:41.64, 2. Cate Ambrose (Riverside) 18:41.70, 3. Halle Hausman (Science Hill, Tenn.) 18:49.30, 4. Ashley Fallow (Riverside) 19:07.79, 5. Olivia Evans (Carolina Homeschool) 19:08.17, 6. Eliza Witherspoon (Brevard, N.C.) 19:11.82, 7. Abigail Smith (Riverside) 19:14.73, 8. Carter Marchbanks (Riverside) 19:16.69, 9. Madison Ellis (Eastside) 19:17.18.10. Maggie Layer (Morristown-West, Tenn.) 19:20.93.

Boys scores

Team top 10: Riverside 84, Boiling Springs 124, Dorman 159, Mauldin 166, Eastside 177, Asheville (N.C.) 199, Science Hill (Tenn.) 234, Mallard Creek (N.C.) 238, Woodmont 250, St. Joseph's 258.

Top 10 Individuals: 1. John Ward (Wade Hampton) 15:42.44, 2. Alex Crigger (Science Hill, Tenn.) 15:43.98, 3. Colt Griffith (Woodmont) 16:03.49, 4. Ben Cignarale (Riverside) 16:04.32, 5. Hammond Manly (Wardlaw Academy) 16:08.00, 6. Noah Graham (Brevard, N.C.) 16:09.79, 7. Ford McCoy (St. Joseph’s) 16:13.46, 8. Andrew Castano (Riverside) 16:23.32, 9. Kade Gosnell (Boiling Springs) 16:24.19, 10. Coen Roberts (Greer) 16:25.36.



Related Photo Galleries

Leave a Comment

Trending: Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport, Obituaries, Chon Restaurant, Allen Bennett Hospital


View All Events