2013 Chamber board represents diverse, growing community

By Jim Fair, Editor
Published on Monday, December 24, 2012

Diversity was the theme for the Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce this year and it will ring true through next year. The 2013 Board of Directors illustrates the most diverse board the Greer chamber has ever assembled.

Chamber President and CEO Allen Smith and 2012 Board Chairman John Mansure, President of Greer Memorial Hospital, were aggressive presenting minority workshops and seminars and embracing the demographics that shape Greer.

The 2013 board will represent a cross-section of Greer’s business landscape.

“The 2013 Board of Directors is quite diverse in a variety of ways. African-Americans, the President of the SC Hispanic Chamber and multiple successful business women will all be represented.  In 2013, we will have a strong mix of small, medium and large businesses as well,” Smith, wrote in an e-mail.

Greer’s position in the fastest growing region in the state is reflective of the selection of Dean Hybl on the board. “I'm also happy to report that Dean Hybl, Executive Director for Ten at the Top, will be on the Board and will certainly provide regional insight which is key as Greer emerges as a leader in the Upstate region,” Smith added.

“The idea is to have Chamber leadership that is representative of the entire community not just segments of it.”

Mansure, who’s tenure as board chairman ends next week, was credited for his role in moving the Chamber’s diversity campaign forward. “John Mansure's legacy, as the 2012 Chairman of the Board, will be that he led the effort to create an all inclusive organization,” Smith said. 

The Greater Greer Chamber of Commerce 2013 Board of Directors and their business association:

Bill Roughton, Chairman of the Board, ParkSterling Bank

Ken Harper, Chair-elect Countybank

April Staggs, Treasurer, Certusbank

Daniel Hughes, General Counsel, Duggan & Hughes

John Mansure, immediate Past Chairman, Greer Memorial Hospital

Chris Crist, Membership Excellence, Owens Insurance                           

Donna Smith, Legislative Affairs, Prudential C. Dan Joyner

Rudy Painter, Business Development, Countybanc Insurance

Brent Garrett, Leadership Development, Countybank

Adele Langford, Greer Events, Langford Electric           

Larry Wilson, Partnership for Tomorrow, L. E. Wilson & Assoc.           


Ann Angermeir, Upstate Workforce Investment Board

Roberta Evans, BMW Manufacturing

William Grady, Grady’s Cleaning Service

Dean Hybl, Ten at the Top

Tommy Johnson, Citizens Building & Loan

Tony Kouskolekas, Village Hospital

Chuck Langston, Langston-Black Real Estate

Evelyn Lugo, SC Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Rose Marchek, Mitsubishi Polyester Film

Bill Roach, Greer Middle College Charter High School

James Stewart, Charter Business

Lisa Suber, Stomping Grounds

Brian Thomas, AeGIS Financial Group

Rosylin Weston, Greenville-Spartanburg Airport,  (Ex-Officio)

Russell Ashmore, Director Emeritus, Ashmore Bros

Reno Deaton, Greer Development Corp (GDC)

Ed Driggers, Administrator, City of Greer

Andrew Havran, Greer Station Assoc. (GSA)

Nick Stegall, Greer Commission of Public Works (CPW)

Allen Smith, Greer Chamber President/CEO


Related Photo Galleries

Leave a Comment

Most Popular Stories

Trending: Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport, Obituaries, Chon Restaurant, Allen Bennett Hospital


View All Events