Accommodations tax advisory committee, members approved by council

By Jim Fair, Editor
Published on Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Enlarge photo

Accommodations tax advisory committee, members approved by council
Greer City Council approved an Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee at its regularly scheduled meeting Tuesday night. The action was approved after council gave second and final approval to create the committee, establishing guidelines and procedures.

The committee will make recommendations to City Council and set guidelines for the granting of 65 percent of the state accommodations funds awarded Greer to be used for tourism related activities within and for the city

The committee members approved for three-year terms represent four from the hospitality industry with two from the lodging sector, one representing a cultural organization and two from the public.

All members are city residents or own/operate a business within the corporate limits of the city.

The following people were approved unanimously, 7-0, by City Council:


Bill Tyler

Randy Jones

Christina Lewis

Gary Patel


Neil Waldrop

General public

Scott Stevens

Reno Deaton

Residents reappointed unanimously to boards and commissions were:

Construction Board of Adjustments and Appeals

• Greg Crusco.

Recreation Association Inc. Board of Trustees

• District 4 Wayne Young

• District 6 Charles Ryan

• At-large Mark Metcalf fills remaining term, through Dec. 31, 2017, for Jennifer Humphrey, who resigned Nov. 3.



Related Photo Galleries

Leave a Comment

Trending: Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport, Obituaries, Chon Restaurant, Allen Bennett Hospital