UofSC's Harris named Blanchard Rogers Trophy winner

Published on Wednesday, July 14, 2021

The South Carolina Football Hall of Fame announced that University of South Carolina's Kevin Harris has been named the recipient of the 2020 Blanchard Rogers Trophy.

Harris, in his first season as a starter as a sophomore, led the Southeastern Conference in rushing yards per game (113.8) and ran a total of 1,138 yards in 10 games. He was the 11th Gamecock to record a 1,000-yard season and the first since Mike Davis. Harris was selected First Team All-SEC by the Associated Press as well as Second team according to the league’s coaches and Phil Steele.

Harris recorded five 100-yard games including a pair of 200-yard games and scored a school single game record with five touchdowns against Ole Miss. Harris finished the season with 16 total touchdowns. He joined George Rogers (3) and Marcus Lattimore (2) as the only Gamecocks with multiple 200-yard games in a career. 

The Blanchard-Revor Lawrence, ogers Trophy is awarded to South Carolina’s most outstanding collegiate player of the year (eligibility includes all college football players playing in S.C., well as S.C., natives playing outside the state).

George Rogers, former Heisman Trophy winner and UofSC standout will present the award July 22 at the SCFHOF’s annual Enshrinement Ceremony at the Hilton Greenville.  Last July, former

Trevor Lawrence, Clemson standout and the No. 1 overall NFL pick to the Jacksonville Jaguars, was honored with the Trophy
named after 1945 Heisman winner Doc Blanchard and Gamecock and 1980 Heisman Trophy
winner George Rogers. 




Related Photo Galleries

Leave a Comment

Most Popular Stories

Trending: Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport, Obituaries, Chon Restaurant, Allen Bennett Hospital


View All Events