Greer voters to choose District 3 council member

Published on Monday, November 4, 2019

Enlarge photo

Anthony Hopkins

Anthony Hopkins


Enlarge photo

Mark Hopper

Mark Hopper


Find your voting precincts here

Greer voters will pick a new City Council member for District 3 Tuesday while four others are running unopposed.

Mayor Rick Danner, Wryley Bettis, representing District 5, and Jay Arrowood representing District 1 are unopposed. The mayor and council members serve four-year terms.

Anthony Hopkins and Mark Hopper are running for the council seat occupied by Kimberly Bookert. She did not file for re-election.

Hopkins is an attorney for South Carolina Legal Services representing low-income clients on civil cases. He has a law degree from Georgetown University. Hopkins was an attorney advisor with the Department of Commerce through July and moved to Greer this summer.

Hopper is owner with Hopper Financial and Abbott’s Frozen Custard. He serves on the City Planning Commission.

Gene Gibson, a Greer Commission of Public Works commissioner since 1982, is also running unopposed. Commissioners serve a six-year term.



Related Photo Galleries

Leave a Comment

Trending: Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport, Obituaries, Chon Restaurant, Allen Bennett Hospital


View All Events