Record absentee votes recorded as polls open today

Published on Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Enlarge photo

Record absentee votes recorded as polls open today
South Carolina voters go to the poll today in the general election with a record of more than 261,000 absentee votes cast as of Friday, according to the South Carolina Election Commission.

Greenville County has seen 18,018 ballots issued.

Polls: Open 7 a.m. , close 7 p.m. Voters in line at 7 p.m. will be allowed to vote.

Polling place: voters’ home addresses determine their polling places, candidates offices, and amendments.

IDs: South Carolina’s driver’s license, Department of Motor Vehicles ID card, South Carolina voter registration card with photo, S.C. concealed weapons permit, federal military ID, U.S. passport.

Governor: Incumbent Republican Gov. Henry McMaster with running mate Pamela Evette, Representative James Smith, Democrat, with running mate Mandy Powers Norrell.

U.S. Congress 4th District: Democrat Brandon Brown, Republican state Sen. William Timmons, American Party Guy Furay. Incumbent Rep. Trey Gowdy is not seeking re-election.

U.S. Congress 3rd District: Incumbent Republican Jeff Duncan, Democrat Mary Geren, American Party Dave Moore.

State Attorney General: Incumbent Republican Allen Wilson, Democrat Constance Anastopoulo.

Secretary of State: Incumbent Republican Mark Hammond, Democrat Melvin Whittenburg.

State Treasurer: Incumbent Republican Curtis Loftis, Democrat Rosalyn Glenn, American Party Sarah Work.

State Comptroller: Incumbent Republican Richard Eckstrom running unopposed.

State Commissioner of Agriculture: Incumbent Republican Hugh Weathers, United Citizens Party Chris Nelums, Green Party David Edmond.

State Superintendent of Education: Incumbent Republican Molly Spearman running unopposed.

State constitutional amendment: Voters in South Carolina will vote on an amendment to decide whether voters or the governor should decide the superintendent of education beginning in 2023. “Yes is for appointment. “No” for position continuing to be elected.

South Carolina State House

District 17: Incumbent Republican state Rep. Mike Burns, Democrat Judi Buckley.

District 18: Incumbent Republican state Rep. Tommy Stringer unopposed.

District 36: Incumbent Republican state Rep. Rita Allison unopposed.

Thirteenth Circuit Solicitor: Incumbent Republican Walt Wilkins, petition candidate Lucas Marchant.

Greenville County Council

District 17: Incumbent Republican Joe Dill unopposed.

District 19: Incumbent Republican Willis Meadows, Democrat Jevarus Howard.

District 23: Incumbent Democrat Xanthene Norris unopposed.

District 26: Incumbent Republican Lynn Ballard unopposed.

District 28: Republican Dan Tripp unopposed.

Greenville County Schools Board of Trustees

District 18: Incumbent Pat Sudduth, Bob Cotter and Ann Lister.

District 20: Incumbent Chuck Saylors unopposed.

District 21:  Roy Chamlee and Lafona Mika Dillard running for open seat.

District 22:  Incumbent Lynda Leventis-Wells, versus Rob Kendrick.

District 24:  Incumbent Derek Lewis unopposed.

District 26:  Incumbent Roger Meek unopposed.

District 28:  Incumbent Lisa Wells versus Darryl Imperati.

Greenville County Treasurer: Incumbent Republican Jill Kintigh is unopposed.

Greenville County Probate Judge: Incumbent Democrat Debra Faulkner unopposed.

Greenville County Soil and Water District Commission: Incumbent Robert Hanley, incumbent Danny Howard and Mike Stewart running for two positions.

Spartanburg County

County Auditor: Republican incumbent Sharon H. West is unopposed.

Spartanburg County Council Chair: Republican incumbent Manning Lynch unopposed.

County Council District 2: Republican incumbent Jack A Mabry unopposed.

County Council District 5: Republican incumbent Bob Walker unopposed.

Spartanburg County Council District 6: Republican incumbent Roger Nutt unopposed.

Spartanburg County Probate Judge: Republican incumbent Ponda Caldwell unopposed.

Spartanburg County Soil and Water District Commission: Incumbent Nigel Cox unopposed.

Spartanburg County Treasurer: Republican incumbent Oren L Brady III is unopposed.

Commissioner of Public Works District, Spartanburg Sanitary Sewer: Nonpartisan incumbent Barbara Barnes, Nonpartisan incumbent Louie Blanton, Nonpartisan Jeff Horton.




Related Photo Galleries

Leave a Comment

Trending: Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport, Obituaries, Chon Restaurant, Allen Bennett Hospital


View All Events